My 2021 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge

Hi Blisses,

Here’s another reading challenge I’m joining this year. I know you must be thinking I’m overdoing it because this is the fifth reading challenge I shared. But I can always drop one or two whenever I want to and I don’t even have to finish any of these challenges if I can’t do it. I’m only signing up to them now to help me get back on track.

ABOUT THE CHALLENGE

The POPSUGAR Reading Challenge is obviously hosted by POPSUGAR, which is an entertainment website but I’m glad they have this reading challenge as well and they’ve been doing this for seven years. This challenge has 50 prompts – 40 REGULAR and 10 ADVANCED. The prompts are the main reason why I do this challenge every year even though I’ve never really finished it. I couldn’t finish the Regular prompts. The things is I love the prompts. Some of them are easy but some are really hard and it’s very challenging. The prompts also help me decide which book I should read next.

Speaking of prompts, if you have a recommendation that will fit the prompts below, please let me know. I need help. 🙂

TBR (+prompts)

This isn’t really a TBR because I don’t have books for all the prompts yet but I will update this post everytime I read something that fits a prompt.

REGULAR

1. A book that published in 2021
2. An Afrofuturist book
3. A book that has a heart, diamond, club, or spade on the cover
4. A book by an author who shares your zodiac sign
5. A dark academia book


6. A book with a gem, mineral, or rock in the title
7. A book where the main character works at your current or dream job
8. A book that has won the Women’s Prize for Fiction
9. A book with a family tree
10. A bestseller from the 1990s

11. A book about forgetting
12. A book you have seen on someone’s bookshelf (in real life, on a Zoom call, in a TV show, etc.)
13. A locked-room mystery
14. A book set in a restaurant
15. A book with a black-and-white cover

16. A book by an indigenous author
17. A book that has the same title as a song
18. A book about a subject you are passionate about
19. A book that discusses body positivity
20. A book on a Black Lives Matter reading list

21. A genre hybrid
22. A book set mostly or entirely outdoors
23. A book with something broken on the cover
24. A book by a Muslim American / Muslim British author
25. A book that was published anonymously

26. A book with an oxymoron in the title
27. A book about do-overs or fresh starts
28. A magical realism book
29. A book set in multiple countries
30. A book set somewhere you’d like to visit in 2021

31. A book by a blogger, vlogger, YouTube video creator, or other online personality
32. A book whose title starts with “Q,” “X,” or “Z”
33. A book featuring three generations (grandparent, parent, child)
34. A book about a social justice issue
35. A book in a different format than what you normally read (audiobooks, ebooks, graphic novels)

36. A book that has fewer than 1,000 reviews on Amazon or Goodreads
37. A book you think your best friend would like
38. A book about art or an artist
39. A book everyone seems to have read but you
40. Your favorite prompt from a past POPSUGAR Reading Challenge

ADVANCED

41. The longest book (by pages) on your TBR list
42. The shortest book (by pages) on your TBR list
43. The book on your TBR list with the prettiest cover
44. The book on your TBR list with the ugliest cover
45. The book that’s been on your TBR list for the longest amount of time

46. A book from your TBR list you meant to read last year but didn’t
47. A book from your TBR list you associate with a favorite person, place, or thing
48. A book from your TBR list chosen at random
49. A DNF book from your TBR list
50. A free book from your TBR list (gifted, borrowed, library)


There you have it blisses. Again, if you have recommendation for any of these prompts, please let me know. Thank you.

Have you heard of this reading challenge? Are you joining too? What reading challenges are you joining this year? Let’s chat.

4 thoughts on “My 2021 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge

  1. I wish you the best of luck, my reading has not been the best in a few months so I have no clue if I will be doing any reading challenges this year, I’ve tired this one year and forgot that i was even doing this challenge oops, but I do wish you the best of luck on you’re reading goals and you’re reading this year

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.