Book Review: Well Met by Jen DeLuca

Hi Blisses,

Just so you all know, it took me two days to write this review. My anxiety is still up due to our current situation with COVID_19. But I’m trying to distract myself with more bookish stuff. That said, let’s now talk about this book.

TITLE: Well Met
BY: Jen DeLuca
SERIES: Well Met #1 (can be read as standalone)
GENRE: Contemporary Romance, Chick-lit
PUBLICATION: September 3rd 2019 by Berkley
NOTES: AtoZ Reading Challenge

MY REVIEW

I’m wooed.

Emily moved to Willow Creek, Maryland to help her sister and niece while her sister is recovering from an accident. Joining, or volunteering, for the Renaissance Faire with her niece wasn’t part of the plan but she ended up doing it anyway. There, she meets new friends who soon made her feel welcomed in the town. The only issue is Simon the school teacher who’s in charge of the Faire, and who showed her nothing but dislike. Simon wouldn’t even accept her suggestions regarding the Faire and he definitely won’t stay quiet while she spats her Shakespeare conspiracy theories. Soon, their banters are harder to ignore that Emily finds herself thinking of him more often. Especially when he becomes a different person in the Faire, flirting with Emily while she’s in her wench’s costume. It makes her wonder if it’s just part of his act as a dashing pirate or is it something more?

Well Met isn’t just a mere contemporary romance, it’s more of a chick-lit with Emily trying to figure out the next step she must take to move on with her life. And there’s also Simon who, like Emily, is in need of moving on for a reason I won’t mention here to avoid spoilers. I love that this isn’t just a romance but rather a story of two people who are in the points of their lives where they must decide who they really are and take roots. This is indeed a very meaningful story. And I don’t dislike any part of Emily and Simon’s character’s developments. Usually, I don’t like it when romance is used for character change. Like can’t they change for themselves? But in here, though romance is used, only slightly and it’s apparent that their individual characters really did the initiative to drive them to change. Most importantly, the book is not afraid to show the characters’ flaws, especially on Simon’s part who’s struggling with self-identity and priorities. He’s too focused on the Faire.

Speaking of Faire. I haven’t been to one because there’s never been one where I live. I hope I can attend a Renaissance Faire someday. I’d really, really love that. 🙂

The romance in Well Met is slow-burn, which is my favorite kind. Plus this is an enemy-to-lovers story so imagine how happy my heart is. The characters are also too likable that I love joining them in their story which I find so adorable. This is told in Emily’s POV but still, I can see right through Simon’s actions. I love it whenever he contradicts Emily or when he just threw Emily a stare. He’s so adorable. Their banters are so entertaining.

Also, it’s incredibly romantic. Simon is so romantic, especially when their romance moved forward. I’m not the one he’s wooing but I’m wooed. Hands down to the most romantic guy of 2020. 🙂 🙂

As for the other characters, I think they all have equal spotlights in the story. No one’s in need of more development or someone has no depth. The author handled the side characters well. And I’m so excited to read the next book which features Stacy, the other girl who played wench in the Faire alongside Emily. Just to be clear, this is a part of a series in where each installment can be read as standalone.

I must say when I picked up Well Met, I thought it’ll just be another contemporary romance I’m used to. I was wrong. As I said, this is more like a chick-lit and aside from that, the romance is not to be underestimated. The level of romance fits the concept of a Renaissance Faire. I did find some scenes silly and even cheesy but who cares, I love them anyway.

RATING: 4 blissful pages with lilies


I can say that Well Met is one of my favorite contemporary romance so far this year. I really loved it and I highly recommend it.

Have you read this book? Or planning to? What do you think of it? Any recommendation to me in the same genre? Let’s chat.

9 thoughts on “Book Review: Well Met by Jen DeLuca

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.