Book Review: Engaged in danger by Barbara Venkataraman

Hi Blisses,

TITLE: Engaged in Danger
BY: Barbara Venkataraman
SERIES: Jamie Quinn Mystery #4
GENRE: Cozy Mystery

BLURB

Finally, life is good for reluctant family law attorney, Jamie Quinn–her father may get his visa soon, her boyfriend is the bomb, and her law practice is growing like crazy–but when she agrees to take on a high-profile divorce case, everything falls apart. What looked like an opportunity to work with her friend Grace and make some serious bucks has turned into a deadly game, one that could destroy their friendship and tear their town apart. Why couldn’t Jamie just leave well enough alone?

REVIEW

This is such an engaging story/series.

Engaged in Danger is the fourth installment in Jamie Quinn’s Mystery Series and proves that the series just keep getting better and better. Here, Jamie is keeping herself busy while her boyfriend is half the world away saving an endangered specie. She found herself helping her neighbor whose sister and brother-in-law died in a plane crash. She was also hired by Nan, who wants to divorce her shady husband but no lawyer accepts her because of her husband’s connection. Knowing our feisty heroine, Jamie, she took the case. Because of that, her life’s in danger all throughout the book.

As I said, the series keeps getting better and better because the cases that Jamie takes became more complex in each book. And added with the side plots featuring her best friend, Grace and my favorite side character, Duke, this book is such an amazing read. It’s also very well-written. I like the way the author weaves the story, giving me every detail of the plot and the setting without being too descriptive. In a way, her story-telling never pulled me away from the story itself, thus I am focused on experiencing the thrill and mystery of what I’m reading rather than trying to learn who’s who and what’s what. I also like that the author is able to give the background of the previous books in the series little by little but not confusing me. I’m pretty sure, anyone can read this without reading the previous ones. But of course, it’s so much better if you read the others before this.

In Engaged in Danger, Jamie is feistier, braver and smarter. You can see how much she’s grown as a lawyer and as a person by the way she handles her cases and the things in her personal life. In here, she isn’t just having a long-distance relationship, she also had her first fight with her best friend, Grace. And her relationship with Duke is amazing as ever.

If I have a minor issue, it would be the resolution. For me, it’s a bit rushed. I wish it lasted more than a chapter so the thrill is longer. But overall, I love this book and I’m really excited for the next book because I’m sure it’s going to be even better, Engaged in Danger and the other three books before are proofs.

RATING: 4 blissful pages with lilies


If you love a cozy mystery novel, I highly recommend this series. you won’t regret it.

Have you read this book? Or planning to? What do you think of it? Let’s chat.

One thought on “Book Review: Engaged in danger by Barbara Venkataraman

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.