Book Review + #UltimateBlogTour: Amari and the Night Brothers by B.B. Alston (@The_WriteReads @bb_alston @egmontbooksuk) – 5 stars

Hi Blisses,

TITLE: Amari and the Night Brothers #1
BY: B.B. Alston
SERIES: Amari and the Night Brothers #1
GENRES: Fantasy, Childrens, Middle Grade
EXPECTED PUBLICATION: January 19th 2021 by Balzer + Bray

2020 is ending but it’s not yet done giving me amazing books to read. Well, technically, it’s Dave from The Write Reads who gave me the book for #UltimateBlogTour and I’m so thankful. Dave never fail to give me great reads. The truth is I got a very early glimpse at the cover of this book, earlier than most, and when I first saw the cover, I knew right away that I would love this book. I was right. And now, I’m here to share my thoughts about it.

GOODREADS BLURB

Amari Peters knows three things.

Her big brother Quinton has gone missing.
No one will talk about it.
His mysterious job holds the secret . . .

So when Amari gets an invitation to the Bureau of Supernatural Affairs, she’s certain this is her chance to find Quinton. But first she has to get her head around the new world of the Bureau, where mermaids, aliens and magicians are real, and her roommate is a weredragon.

Amari must compete against kids who’ve known about the supernatural world their whole lives, and when each trainee is awarded a special supernatural talent, Amari is given an illegal talent – one that the Bureau views as dangerous.
With an evil magician threatening the whole supernatural world, and her own classmates thinking she is the enemy, Amari has never felt more alone. But if she doesn’t pass the three tryouts, she may never find out what happened to Quinton . . .

REVIEW

It’s not hard to love this book, mainly because of Amari. Right from the very first scene, she stole my heart. Amari is strong-willed and very brave and overall has an amazing personality. She lives in a poor neighborhood but goes to a posh school and what she’s going through in that school pains me. So when the fantasy side of the story begins, I was elated because finally, Amari gets to shine more.

The fantasy element really surprised me, not because it’s new but because I enjoyed it a lot. I enjoyed learning about the Bureau and I found them interesting along all the magical creatures and abilities in Supernatural world. the supernatural abilities are also enjoyable to read even though there’s nothing new in them. This made me realize that the writing is incredible.

I also enjoyed the mystery side with Quinton.I think the author did a good job at handling that specific side of the story. I was eager to know more about Quinton in every chapter even though he’s really not present in the huge part of the story, but his presence is always there because Amari’s connection to her brother is very pure. And of course, Quinton is very much connected to the Bureau (not a spoiler because it’s very obvious. LOL).

Speaking of Quinton, his story is not the only aspect I love but also his character in general. I love his relationship or bond with Amari. He’s very protective and loyal. And the fact that I love him from the very first time Amari talked about him says a lot. Aside from Quinton, I also loved the other side characters. This book is filled with characters you’ll love. I can’t say much to avoid spoiling things especially because some of the characters, you just can’t be sure about them at first. All I can do is name them. I ended up loving Elsie, Agent Magnus and Fiona and of course Amari and Quinton’s mother. Even Dylan and Lara kept my interest. The characters are probably the best part of this book.

RATING: 5 blissful pages with lilies

Yay! 5 stars. I really wasn’t expecting to still have a 5-star read as the year is ending but here it is. I just can’t find anything that I don’t like in this book. I absolutely love it and I’m sure you will too.


Have you read this book? Or planning to? What do you think of it? Let’s chat.

2 thoughts on “Book Review + #UltimateBlogTour: Amari and the Night Brothers by B.B. Alston (@The_WriteReads @bb_alston @egmontbooksuk) – 5 stars

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.