Top 5 Character-Driven Books [Top 5 Tuesday #5]

Hi Guys,

240_F_132790956_kmUGMdwatnAcQUIXx6yOQadP83XcOY9y

This meme is currently hosted by Shanah @Bionic Book Worm and every week she comes up with amazing prompts for us to post about. This week’s topic is a difficult one: Books that are character-driven. Now, there are actually millions of books out there that are character-driven but it’s hard to choose which are the perfect examples.

But I’ll try…

Also, my Top Ten Tuesday topic today somehow coincides with this topic. I chose my top Ten Favorite Characters this year (so far) and most of them are in Character-Driven Books but I didn’t include the books they’re from in here. So I encourage you all, if you have time, to check out my other post too. 🙂 It’s HERE..


∴∴Top Five Character-Driven Books∴∴

1.) The Help by Kathryn Stocket
4667024
Three women who came from different backgrounds join together to make a difference. Though this book tackles a very serious social issue and there were situations showed that seemingly what pushed them to finally speak, the book actually centered on the character’s own thoughts, views, struggles and eventually development. The characters are essentially the ones who made the entire plot happen. Especially Skeeter.

2. Wonder by R. J. Palacio

11387515I will never call this one Plot-driven no matter what others say, because the plot was very obvious. Auggie will be starting 5th grade and easy to guess that he’ll be bullied and that he will eventually undergo hard stuffs. If not for Auggie’s determination and desire to be seen by his classmates as ordinary just as he sees himself, the book is basically just another book. The author really made the readers get invested to Auggie’s character.

 

3.) Six of Crows duology by Leigh Bardugo

23437156Six criminals. Each of them made it to my list of all-time favorite characters. And because they are who they are, they found themselves in hard situations that embodied the whole plot of the novel.

Side Note: For me, it’s also the characters that made SoC a better series than its predecessor, Shadow and Bone. No offence to Nikolai and the Darkling, but both series are in the same world, with same magic, same dangerous stuffs happening to them and around them yet SoC turned out to be way better. It’s because of the characters.

4.) A Song of Ice and Fire by G. R. R. Martin

game of thrones

How gorgeous is this photo?

Now I haven’t really read the series, but I do watch the adaptations and though I’m aware the adaptation changes some things, the main point of the story remains. It’s all game of thrones. But this story is not as interesting as it is if not for its compelling characters.

5.) The Casual Vacancy by  J.K. Rowling

the_casual_vacancy

This novel by our queen is definitely character-driven with its multiple characters who are all imperfect. They do things exactly as what their imperfections dictate. This is actually the reason why I found this book a little boring, because the characters are a little stereotypicals making their actions predictable, also the outcome of those actions.

 


There you have it guys, five Character-driven books. Have you read any of these books? Or are you planning too? Do you agree that they’re Character-driven?

Let’s chat,

cameff_1512136642287

Find me somewhere else:

Bookstagram | Instagram | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Blog |

12 thoughts on “Top 5 Character-Driven Books [Top 5 Tuesday #5]

  1. What a fantastic list! The Help and Six of Crows are fantastic examples. When I think of both of these books I remember how much I LOVED these characters!!! I wish I would have thought of these myself lol!
    Thanks for participating – added you to the list 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Help was a good one. Six of Crows too; what a movie it’d make. I’m not into Game of Thrones although I like the dragon mama character. I haven’t read that book of Rowling; I don’t want to spoil the magic of Harry Potter and won’t read The Cursed Child. I did like her Cormorant Strike mystery though.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.