Father Christmas and Me by Matt Haig [Book Review]

35698350
TITLE: Father Christmas and Me

BY: Matt Haig (Illustrator: Chris Mould)

SERIES: Christmas #3

GENRE: Childrens, Middle Grade, Fantasy, Fiction

PUBLICATION: October 12th 2017 by Canongate Book Ltd 

RATING:

4stars1

After being saved by Father Christmas in London, Amelia Wishart and her cat, Captain Soot went to live in Elfhelm with Father Christmas and Mary Christmas. Elfhelm is a place hidden from human world and where elves and fairies and even trolls live. But this place isn’t all charming for Amelia. The elves can’t seem to accept her and she finds it hard to belong. But aside from that, a darker thing is upon Elfhelm, making hope dwindle. An old elf and Easter Bunny threaten not only Amelia’s life in Elfhelm, but also Christmas. And it’s up to her, her new family and the elves to save it.

This is a very short book, therefore a quick, easy read. I also find the whole story fascinating very engaging. I love Amelia’s voice as she narrates the story. I love learning about Father Christmas and Elfhelm. I love how unique things with the elves, their endless singing and usage of words. It’s very amusing how they name their things and places too. I also love how Easter Bunny was inserted in the story. I think it’s well done.

Though there are some parts that I found a little slow. And though this book seems Christmas-y and magic everywhere, it’s not like that at all. Yeah, I said, I find it fascinating and engaging but if you’re looking for a Christmas book that can make you wide-eyed in amazement because of magic and fantasy, this book is not what you’re looking for. (But I heard the first two books in the series are more magical) But as  you can see, I only take out one star in my rating. For me, this issue is just minor.

Overall, I love this book and its message. How hope matters and that impossible is just the same as other bad words.  And the Illustrations are so beautiful and perfect for the story.

Also I found such amazing quotes from the book.

You see, Elfhelm is a magical place, and to see magical places you have to believe in magic.

As you know, hope is a kind of magic.

An impossibility is just a possibility you don’t understand yet.

It isn’t impossible. It’s just not the right thing to do. And that’s a very big difference.

Promises are for liars. If you tell the truth all the time, you don’t need promises.

‘Books,’ said Father Christmas, ‘are the greatest gifts of all. Nothing else comes close.’

But really reading and writing are the same thing. Writing is just reading a story that is in your mind and putting it on paper.

…words are magic too and they can contain everything.

I got an e-copy from Netgalley but I think this one’s been published before and new editions are just being published. 🙂

cameff_1512136642287

Bookstagram | Instagram | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Blog |

13 thoughts on “Father Christmas and Me by Matt Haig [Book Review]

  1. Hope is always very important to have I think. No matter how bleak things might get 😊 This really does sound like a fun read, and it really is funny to hear that they somehow made the Easter Bunny part of this story. All in all it’s not a book I would pick up soon, pretty much because it’s quite different from my usual reads. But I never say never. As always: great post! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha.. I agree, this might not the book you would pick. 🙂 But yes I agree. We need Hope, to hope no matter what’s going on around us. 🙂

      By the way, I just wanna share, one of my favorite animated films is “Rise of the Guardians”.. I love the message of it so much. I can relate.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.