Top Ten Best Reads of 2018 (so far) – TTT #14

Hi Nerds,


Watercolor-grunge-background-design-02 (2)


This weekly meme is hosted by Jana from That Artsy Reader Girl  and I think my last TTT Post was three Tuesdays ago. Yeah shame on ME… It’s just that, this past weeks, it felt like my mind’s into anything but blogging. Yep, ever heard of blogging slump? I’m sure you did. 🙂 🙂 Anyway, I decided to participate this week because the topic is a freebie. I chose to share my best reads of 2018 so far. I was planning to post something like it anyway.

The books I’m gonna feature aren’t necessarily published this year nor rated 5 Stars by me. They’re simply the books I read from January that I really loved, liked and enjoyed. They’re the books I might reread given a chance (or free time).


∴∴MY 2018 BEST READS(so far)∴∴

♥ 4 Newly Published Titles ♥

I’ve been saying this, 2018 is having the best new novel releases and a number of them were written by debut authors such as Tomi Adeyemi and Alexandra Christo. And yeah most of 2018 released novels that I read were fantasy. I’m into this genre since The Cruel Prince which was published the 2nd of January.

(Please click their titles to see my reviews)

1.) Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi (5/5 Stars)
2.) Daughter of the Siren Queen by Tricia Levenseller (4.5/5 Stars)
3.) To Kill A Kingdom by Alexandra Christo (5/5 Stars)
4.) The Cruel Prince by Holly Black (5/5 Stars)

♥ 4 Non-Fantasy Titles ♥

Now these books aren’t totally 5-starred but I was immensely entertained reading them. I call these books Serious Novels as they tackle about serious issues (though I can say that The Outsiders and A Man Called Ove were written with some humour) or things that nonFiction like Bird by Bird authored by the one and only, Anne Lamott.

(Please click their titles to see my reviews)

5.) The Outsiders by S. E. Hinton (4/5 Stars)
6.) Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta (4.5/5 Stars)
7.) A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman (4/5 Stars)
8.) Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott (4/5 Stars)

♥ 2 Series ♥

The Name of the Wind is Book 1 in Kingkiller Chronicles Series. And yeah I’m not finished with the series yet but Book 1 proved that it’s one of the best series I read and will read. Now, Daughter of Smoke and Bone Trilogy I’m done reading. Thought it has flaws, I enjoyed it so much and the characters definitely made it to my heart. And I like Laini taylor’s writing.

(Please click their titles to see my reviews)

9.) The Kingkiller Chronicles
The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss (5/5 Stars)
10.) Daughter of Smoke and Bone Trilogy
Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor (3.5/5 Stars)
Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor (4.5/5 Stars)
Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor (4/5 Stars)


There you have it guys. Have you read any of these books? Or are they on your list too? Let’s chat. And I’m open to recommendations. 🙂

Happy Reading.

cameff_1512136642287

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

42 thoughts on “Top Ten Best Reads of 2018 (so far) – TTT #14

  1. I adored To Kill A Kingdom and I’m getting round to The Cruel Prince! I’ve been having to really focus to get things written too, but this weeks freebie was a nice change of pace.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes… I really hope There’s a sequel to TKaK or at least another book set in its world. 🙂 🙂 Hope you enjoy The Cruel Prince.

      And same here. Thank God it’s a freebie week, it’s somehow pushed me to post something. 🙂 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

          1. I loved Beartown!! It’s tied for my favorite by him. I did not like Britt Marie Was Here.. I had a hard time getting into that one. I think that’s the one where more people are mixed on whether or not they like it.

            Liked by 1 person

    1. NOTW became one my all-time favorites too. It’s just so amazing. hopefully the last book in the series comes out this year. 🙂

      Jellicoe Road is filled with Drama and little mystery but I loved it so much. The world in CoBaB is amazing. Enjoy…

      Like

  2. Children of Blood and Bone is next on my list after my ARC and finishing another series. I’ve been wanting to read Daughter of Smoke and Bone for ages so hopefully I get to that this year and I’ve heard amazing things about To Kill a Kingdom. Great list Lilli!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m thinking you read Daughter of Pirate King. The sequel is so much better, especially the writing so I highly recommend it. 🙂 🙂 TKaK has almost the same feel as that duology and also a great read. It has this amazing world I want the writer to make more stories set on it. 🙂 Hope you enjoy reading them as well. 🙂 🙂

      Like

    1. Hi Bree… I feel like it’s been a long while since I last saw your name. where have you been? lol…. Maybe our time differences are just so apart, I seldom see your posts. Gonna check your blog now.

      Thank you for the tag… 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve not been too…I don’t really know. I guess I’ve been a bit overwhelmed with EVERYTHING. But I’ve finally read ACOTAR and I loved it! Have you read it?
        I know the time difference is apart, only because of your 24-hour readathons. I’m so excited for the next one, I have a huge tbr for the one coming up which I will most likely get one or two done, but still🙂💜

        You’re welcome!🌸

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Same here. I feel like I have so many things to do, especially with my writing. 🙂
          And No, i still can get myself to read ACOTAR.. Is it really THAT amazing?
          Yay!!! i’m excited too. I’m really enjoying our Readathons though we seldom find time to chat throughout the day but still it’s amazing to think that somewhere in the world someone is reading with me at the same time. hehe. 🙂 🙂
          And hello, one or two books a day is awesome, I know I just get to read more because of my extreme case of insomnia which you should be thankful you don’t have. lols. 🙂 🙂

          Like

  3. These sound so good! Especially the Laini Taylor books since Daughter of Smoke and Bone is so gouda! I cannot wait to complete this trilogy. Also, I might as well pick up the rest of the books you mentioned as your opinion is amazing! Also, I am so sorry that you landed yourself into a blogging slump. At least, it was only for a couple of weeks instead of a year or the unspeakable forever. Oh, the horrors! What would I do without you?! Anyway, I hope you enjoy the rest of year! Also, good luck with trying to get your parents to buy you more books! 🙂

    Like

    1. Ahhh… the thought of having a slump in a year made me shudder… And FOREVER???.. Please No. hehe…
      I really like Laini Taylor’s writing. Hope you like the whole series, though I must admit, I foudn flaws in it but still I enjoyed them a lot… 🙂 🙂
      You too, Nicole.. have a great reading year, 🙂 🙂

      Like

  4. Great list! I’m so happy to see A Man Called Ove and The Name Of The Wind on here. ❤ And there are quite a few that are high on my TBR pile; especially the new releases.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.